Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Sea Girls share new single ‘Lonely’ and announce 2022 UK tour

The group will hit the road in November in support of their upcoming second album, 'Homesick'

By Tom Skinner

Press picture of Sea Girls dressed mostly in black, stood in front of a white brick background
Their new single is taken from their upcoming album of the same name, set for release on January 14 2022. Credit: BlackkSocks

Sea Girls have released a new track called ‘Lonely’ and shared details of a UK headline tour.

The London band are due to release their second studio album, ‘Homesick’, on March 25 via Polydor. So far, it’s been previewed by the songs ‘Sleeping With You’, ‘Sick’, ‘Hometown’ and ‘Again Again’.

Frontman Henry Camamile explained that Sea Girls’ latest offering “was written the day Ennio Morricone died, so was initially in honour of him, a nod to the good, the bad and the ugly – hence the whistle and the line ‘OK Corral’”.

He continued: “It’s about the best friend I probably should have gone out with, but never did. We both moved on and the band happened and life got in the way for the both of us.”

‘Lonely’ arrives with an accompanying official video, which was directed by James Slater (Sam Fender, Blossoms) and filmed on the beaches of Morecambe in Lancaster. The clip stars ‘Sex Education’ actor JoJo Macari – you can tune in below.

In addition to sharing new music, Sea Girls have detailed their UK ‘Hometown Tour’ – which includes a huge show at Alexandra Palace in London this November.

Tickets go on general sale here at 10am GMT next Friday (February 25). Fans can gain access to a pre-sale at the same time on Wednesday (February 24) by pre-ordering ‘Homesick’ before 5pm GMT on Monday (February 21) – visit here for further information.

Sea Girls’ new 2022 UK tour dates are as follows:

17 – Nottingham, Rock City
18 – Birmingham, O2 Academy 1
19 – Glasgow, O2 Academy
22 – Cardiff, University Great Hall
23 – Southampton, O2 Guildhall
25 – London, Alexandra Palace
26 – Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse

The stint will follow the band’s previously announced European headline tour, which takes place in late March and into April. A run of intimate UK record store dates will follow in May ahead of various festival appearances throughout the summer, including Y Not, Truck and NOS Alive.

Sea Girls’ full list of concerts for 2022 can be found on the group’s official website.

Reflecting on the recording process for ‘Homesick’, Henry Camamile said: “Imagine us locked down in the studio in rainy Brixton working with the producers remotely on the album in California’s Topanga Canyon.

“That clashing of worlds is the sound of this record, the DNA. Making an album this way, remotely and 5000 miles apart, was a crazy idea and shouldn’t have worked, but it did.”