Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Sea Power unveil anthemic new single, ‘Green Goddess’ – listen

The indie rock veterans' eighth album is out next month

By Joe Goggins

Sea Power press shot, 2021
'Green Goddess' is the third single from 'Everything Is Forever'. (Photo: Press)

Sea Power have released a third single, ‘Green Goddess’, from their forthcoming eighth album.

The newly-rechristened outfit teased next month’s ‘Everything Was Forever’ late last year, with singles ‘Folly’ and ‘Two Fingers’. Now, ‘Green Goddess’ offers fans another taste of the new record – it’s a softly anthemic indie rocker, setting a soaring vocal turn from frontman Jan Scott Wilkinson against cascading walls of Spectoresque guitars. You can hear the track below.

In a press release, Wilkinson expanded on the way in which the English countryside inspired the song. “Green Goddess was written with [guitarist] Noble,” the singer explained. “He had the initial idea for the music which I helped arrange and add vocals to. It is a love song about everything green from the Lake District to the New Forest. The places I love to be which are quiet and restorative.”

“It is also a love song for my wife whose favourite colour is green.” Wilkinson went on. “A rumination on human and non-human muses. There are dark and complicated things going on but sometimes it is good to forget this and go to the places and where you are happy. A hope that the future doesn’t have to be at odds with the past.”

‘Green Goddess’, ‘Folly’ and ‘Two Fingers’ represent Sea Power’s first new material in five years, notwithstanding their BAFTA-winning soundtrack work on the video game ‘Disco Elysium’. Known for many years as British Sea Power, the band shortened their name last August, citing the “isolationist, antagonistic nationalism” increasingly inherent in the word ‘British’.

“We’ve always been internationalist in our mindset, something made clear in songs like ‘Waving Flags’, an anthem to pan-European idealism.” they said in a statement at the time. “We always wanted to be an internationalist band but maybe having a specific nation state in our name wasn’t the cleverest way to demonstrate that.”

‘Everything Was Forever’ is released on February 18th. Sea Power will play seven UK dates in April, kicking off with an intimate show in Southampton at 1865. The full dates are below.

Sea Power, April 2022:

12 – Southampton, 1865

13 – Birmingham, O2 Institute 2

14 – London, Roundhouse

19 – Bristol, O2 Academy

21 – Sheffield, Leadmill

22 – Glasgow, St Luke’s

23 – Manchester, Albert Hall