Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Spice Girls release anniversary deluxe edition album and new ‘Wannabe’ video

The new lyric video was filmed inside the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London, the same place as the original

By Jen Thomas

Spice Girls
The pop legends reissued their debut album, 'Spice', in October. (Photo: Press)

Spice Girls have released a special deluxe edition of their iconic debut album today (October 29), as well as a new video for ‘Wannabe’.

Spice Girls have curated the new album, called ‘Spice25’.

It’s available as a 2CD set inside an A5 hardback book, and there are vinyl and cassette editions available too.

There’s also an Apple exclusive remastered edition of the original album using Dolby Atmos, for audiophiles.

A new version of the famous ‘Wannabe’ video has been created by Tom Burden of design studio We Are GROWNUP.

Like its predecessor, it was filmed inside the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London.

The original ‘Wannabe’ video was shot there in 1996 and launched their career.

Watch the new video below:

Mel B said on Twitter of the anniversary: “All I ever wanted was to be accepted and to make everyone around me – gay, straight, brown, black, shy or loud like me – to feel they can celebrate who they are and to be free to be themselves.

“All I hope – 25 years on – is that message has been heard loud and clear. It’s true that in the end love IS all you need so I thank everyone who has ever bought a Spice Girls record or stood in the rain to greet us or got dressed up in pink, in a tracksuit, a ginger wig, a leopard print catsuit or put on Vic’s iconic pout!”

Listen to the album below:

A previously unheard Spice Girls song ‘Feed Your Love’ was released earlier this year.

It formed part of an EP put together to celebrate the 25th anniversary of ‘Wannabe.’

Emma Bunton previously said she’s “sure” Spice Girls will tour again as the world continues to open up after the pandemic.

Mel C recently teamed up with Coldplay for a performance of ‘2 Become 1’ at Audacy’s 8th Annual We Can Survive charity concert at the Hollywood Bowl.

Watch the performance below:

Mel revealed on Instagram that the Coldplay frontman asked on a surprise Facetime call that morning if she would crash their set.

Chris told the audience: “One of our dreams is to play a song with a Spice Girl and we’ve been waiting for this for 24 years. I don’t know if it’s possible but if everyone is super quiet and just sends that wish out…wouldn’t it be amazing if a Spice Girl just appeared out of nowhere?”

Mel then walked out onstage in a tracksuit to cheers and performed the song with Chris.

Sporty Spice explained on social media: “What a fantastic, unexpected night! I gave Chris a text to tell him we would be coming to his gig at the Hollywood Bowl and the next thing I know, he’s on FaceTime while I’m in the nail salon, asking me to come up on stage with him!”

“Well, what could I say to an offer like that! Thank you Coldplay for such an amazing night and experience. Hopefully I can get back to the Hollywood Bowl soon with three certain ladies for company!”

See the Spice25 tracklisting below:


1. ‘Wannabe’ (02:53)
2. ‘Say You’ll Be There’ (03:56)
3. ‘2 Become 1’ (Single Version) (04:05)
4. ‘Love Thing’ (03:39)
5. ‘Last Time Lover’ (04:11)
6. ‘Mama’ (05:05)
7. ‘Who Do You Think You Are’ (04:01)
8. ‘Something Kinda Funny’ (04:05)
9. ‘Naked’ (04:26)
10. ‘If U Can’t Dance’ (03:49)


1. ‘Wannabe’ (Dave Way Alternative Mix) (03:25)
2. ‘Say You’ll Be There’ (7-inch Radio Mix) (04:09)
3. ‘2 Become 1’ (Orchestral Version) (04:05)
4. ‘Mama’ (Biffco Mix) (05:49)
5. ‘Love Thing’ (12-inch Unlimited Groove Mix) (06:25)
6. ‘Take Me Home’ (04:07)
7. ‘Last Time Lover’ (Demo) (04:05)
8. ‘Feed Your Love’ (04:36)
9. ‘If U Can’t Dance’ (Demo) (03:36)
10. ‘Who Do You Think You Are’ (Demo) (03:49)
11. ‘One of These Girls’ (03:33)
12. ‘Shall We Say Goodbye Then?’ (00:53)