Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood’s The Smile announce debut UK/EU tour

The run will include four UK shows and a slot at Barcelona's Primavera Sound

By Will Richards

Jonny Greenwood, Thom Yorke and Tom Skinner of The Smile pose in a black-and-white press shot
The Smile. (Picture: y Alex Lake)

The Smile have followed up their debut live gig with details of a full UK and European headline tour for later this year.

The band, which comprises Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood alongside Sons Of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, played their first full live shows at the weekend (January 30-31), hosting three London gigs across an evening and the following morning.

The new run of gigs will kick off in mid-May in Europe, with four UK shows, including a pair at London’s Roundhouse, sandwiched into the middle of the tour.

Tickets for the new shows go on general sale on Friday February 4 at 10am GMT here. with a pre-sale available here from the same time tomorrow (February 2) for those who sign up to the band’s mailing list.

See the full list of shows below.

MAY 2022
16 – Zagreb, Hala
17 – Vienna, Gasometer
19 – Prague, Forum Karlin
20 – Berlin, Tempodrom
23 – Stockholm, Cirkus
24 – Oslo, Sentrum Scene
27 – Amsterdam, Paradiso
29 – London, Roundhouse
30 – London, Roundhouse

JUNE 2022
1 – Edinburgh, Usher Hall
2 – Manchester, Albert Hall
4 – Lille, L’Aéronef
6 – Paris, Philarmonie de Paris
7 – Paris, Philarmonie de Paris
8 – Lyon, Les Nuits de Fourvière
10 – Barcelona, Primavera Sound
12 – Dijon, Festival VYV Les Solidarites
24 – Reims, La Magnifique Society
25 – Werchter, TW Classic Festival
27 – Luxembourg, The Neumünster Abbaye
29 – Gdynia, Open’er Festival

JULY 2022
5 – Barcelona, Poble Espanyol
6 – Madrid, Noches del Botánico
8 – Lisbon, Coliseum
11 – Nimes, Festival de Nimes
12 – Montreux, Montreux Jazz Festival
14 – Milan, Fabrique Milano
15 – Ferrara, Piazza Trento Trieste
17 – Macerata MC – Arena Sferisterio
18 – Rome, Auditorium Parco della Musica
20 – Taormina, Teatro Antico di Taormina

Last week (January 27), the band shared their second single, ‘The Smoke’. It follows their debut single, ‘You Will Never Work In Television Again‘, which was released earlier that month.

Last month Yorke performed ‘Free In The Knowledge’, an unreleased The Smile song, live that was only previously heard during a rehearsal broadcast on Instagram earlier last December. Pro-shot footage from his appearance at the ‘Letters Live’ event held at the Royal Albert Hall on October 30, 2021 emerged at the end of last year.