Skip to main content

Home Film Film News

The Smile announce new album ‘Wall Of Eyes’ with Paul Thomas Anderson-directed video

The Radiohead side-project will also tour the UK and Europe in support of their second album next year.

By Will Richards

The Smile
The Smile (Picture: Frank Lebon)

Radiohead side-project The Smile have announced a new album called Wall Of Eyes with a Paul Thomas Anderson-directed video for its title track.

The band – featuring Thom YorkeJonny Greenwood and drummer Tom Skinner – released debut album A Light For Attracting Attention last year and recently shared a vinyl-only live EP from gigs in 2022.

On January 26, 2024, they will release Wall Of Eyes via XL Recordings. The album features the single ‘Bending Hectic’, which was released back in June.

Watch Anderson’s ‘Wall Of Eyes’ video and see the tracklist and artwork for the new album – by Yorke and Stanley Donwood – below.

1. ‘Wall Of Eyes’
2. ‘Teleharmonic’
3. ‘Read The Room’
4. ‘Under Our Pillows’
5. ‘Friend Of A Friend’
6. ‘I Quit’
7. ‘Bending Hectic’
8. ‘You Know Me!’

The Smile
The Smile – ‘Wall Of Eyes’ artwork by Stanley Donwood and Thom Yorke

The band are also set to head out on a UK and European headline tour next year in support of the album. The tour begins in Dublin on March 7 and ends with a London gig at Alexandra Palace.

See the tour dates below and buy tickets here from 9am GMT on Friday, November 17.

MARCH 2024
7 – Dublin, 3Arena
13 – Copenhagen, K.B. Hallen
15 – Brussels, Forest National
16 – Amsterdam, AFAS Live
18 – Brighton, Centre
19 – Manchester, O2 Apollo
20 – Glasgow, SEC Armadillo
22 – Birmingham, O2 Academy
23 – London, Alexandra Palace

Reviewing The Smile’s debut album, Rolling Stone UK wrote: “A Light for Attracting Attention sees the two Radiohead band members join with Sons of Kemet drummer Tom Skinner and longtime producer Nigel Godrich as they take some surprising turns across 13 mesmerising, experimental tracks. As Yorke put it, ‘there’s not any sort of aesthetic agenda’. Forget everything you know, and dive in.”