Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Ezra Collective announce new album ‘Dance, No One’s Watching’

The follow-up to the group's Mercury Prize-winning ‘Where I’m Meant to Be’ is out in September via Partisan Records.

By Will Richards

Ezra Collective
Ezra Collective (Picture: YOUT)

Ezra Collective have announced details of their new album, Dance, No One’s Watching.

The follow-up to the London group’s Mercury Prize-winning album Where I’m Meant to Be is out in September via Partisan Records.

The album was first previewed back in April with energetic new single ‘Ajala’, and they have now shared second single ‘God Gave Me Feet for Dancing’.

Speaking about the new single, bandleader Femi Koleoso said: “Myself, Ife, and TJ all grew up in church, and it played a massive role in how we view the purpose of dancing. Dancing is bigger than just the club space. Dancing is a community thing, dancing is a spiritual thing, and ‘God Gave Me Feet for Dancing’ is like a window into that element of Ezra Collective for the five of us.

“There’s a story in the Bible that talks about ‘David dancing before the Lord’, and that’s always been something that has inspired me. So, ‘God Gave Me Feet For Dancing’ is meant to look at dancing in a more spiritual capacity, like it’s our God-given ability to shake away the badness of life and dance instead.”

Later this year, Ezra Collective will head out on a UK and Ireland headline tour, on which they will become the first UK jazz band to headline London’s Wembley Arena.

See the November headline tour dates below and buy tickets here.

6 – Birmingham, Institute
7 – Leeds, Project House (sold out)
8 – Glasgow, Barrowlands (sold out)
10 – Manchester, Apollo

11 – Dublin, 3Olympia
13 – Bristol, Beacon (sold out)

14 – Bristol, Beacon (new date)
15 – London, Wembley Arena