Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis score French film ‘La Panthère Des Neiges’ and release first single

The documentary, about a photographer and writer's search for a snow leopard, is out next month

By Hollie Geraghty

Nick Cave Warren Ellis sit against computer gear in a black and white photo
Warren Ellis and Nick Cave (Photo: Matthew Thorne)

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis have composed the score for new French documentary ‘Les Panthère Des Neiges’.

Translated to ‘The Snow Panther’, the pair have soundtracked the film directed by Marie Amiguet, which followed wildlife photographer Vincent Munier and writer Sylvain Tesson as they set out to find a snow leopard in Tibet.

Cave and Ellis have released the first single from the soundtrack, ‘We Are Not Alone’, with the full record set to be released digitally on December 17 via Invada Records.

The documentary will be released in the US on December 22, though there is no UK release date yet.

Listen to ‘We Are Not Alone’ below.

A press release explained: “Vincent Munier, one of the world’s most renowned wildlife photographers takes the adventurer and novelist Sylvain Tesson (In the Forest of Siberia) with him on his latest mission. For several weeks, they explore these valleys searching for unique animals and try to spot the snow leopard, one of the rarest and most difficult big cats to approach.”

Speaking about the film, Ellis said: “There is something about the heart of this film that draws you in. I realised after a day, that I wanted to do whatever it took to compose an entire original score. The film deserved to have its own musical voice. 

“I booked five days and asked Nick if he could come in for a day to write a theme song and play some piano. He saw the film and stayed for four days.

“In the end we made what I think is one of the most beautiful films we have ever worked on. One of my favourite experiences ever working on a project. The stars are the animals in all their wild glory, as we have never seen them before, and man in reverence and wonder.”

Find the full tracklisting for ‘La Panthère Des Neiges’ below.

1. ‘L’attaque de Loups’
2. ‘Les Cerfs’

3. ‘Antilope’
4. ‘La Bête’
5. ‘Les Yaks’
6. ‘Des Affûts Elliptiques’
7. ‘Les Nomades’
8. ‘La Grotte’
9. ‘Les Princes’
10. ‘La Neige Tombe’
11. ‘Les Ours’
12. ‘Un Être Vous Obsède’
13. ‘L’apparition: We Are Not Alone’