Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Radiohead side project The Smile debut new track ‘Skrting On The Surface’

It's the third track to emerge from the side project

By Nick Reilly

The Smile perform live
The Smile, 2022 (Picture: Alex Lake)

The Smile, the side-project of Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood, have today shared a new track called ‘Skrting On The Surface’.

The group, which sees Yorke and Greenwood alongside Sons of Kemet drummer Tom Skinner, first performed the track during their performance at Glastonbury’s Live At Worthy Farm livestream in 2021, as well as a recent string of gigs in London.

It began life as a Radiohead song, but never saw the light of day in the band’s releases. Previous releases from the band include ‘The Smoke‘ and their debut single, ‘You Will Never Work In Television Again‘, which both arrived in January 2022.

Earlier this week, Yorke also shared new song ‘5.17’, written for the final season of ‘Peaky Blinders’.

Last month they also followed their debut live gigs with news of a further run of shows in May. They will kick off in Europe, with four UK shows including two at London’s Roundhouse. Tickets can be purchased here.

You can find The Smile’s full tour schedule below.

MAY 2022
16 – Zagreb, Hala
17 – Vienna, Gasometer
19 – Prague, Forum Karlin
20 – Berlin, Tempodrom
23 – Stockholm, Cirkus
24 – Oslo, Sentrum Scene
27 – Amsterdam, Paradiso
29 – London, Roundhouse
30 – London, Roundhouse

JUNE 2022
1 – Edinburgh, Usher Hall
2 – Manchester, Albert Hall
4 – Lille, L’Aéronef
6 – Paris, Philarmonie de Paris
7 – Paris, Philarmonie de Paris
8 – Lyon, Les Nuits de Fourvière
10 – Barcelona, Primavera Sound
12 – Dijon, Festival VYV Les Solidarites
24 – Reims, La Magnifique Society
25 – Werchter, TW Classic Festival
27 – Luxembourg, The Neumünster Abbaye
29 – Gdynia, Open’er Festival

JULY 2022
5 – Barcelona, Poble Espanyol
6 – Madrid, Noches del Botánico
8 – Lisbon, Coliseum
11 – Nimes, Festival de Nimes
12 – Montreux, Montreux Jazz Festival
14 – Milan, Fabrique Milano
15 – Ferrara, Piazza Trento Trieste
17 – Macerata MC – Arena Sferisterio
18 – Rome, Auditorium Parco della Musica
20 – Taormina, Teatro Antico di Taormina