Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Thom Yorke releases new solo track ‘5.17’

The new track is from the sixth and final season of 'Peaky Blinders'

By Hollie Geraghty

Thom Yorke plays live in stage with a microphone and acoustic guitar
Thom Yorke (Photo: Letters Live/YouTube).

Thom Yorke has shared new song ‘5.17’, written for the latest season of ‘Peaky Blinders’ – listen to the track below.

Radiohead’s Yorke and Jonny Greenwood both contributed original music to the sixth and final season of the Birmingham gangster show, as revealed to NME.

“Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood contributed some original stuff,” director Anthony Byrne said. “I’m over the moon about all of that. The music has always been really important historically, and I was keen to bring a dramatic score into it. We’re using that much more in this season. It’s a much heavier season so the score is taking things in a very different direction.”

Apple Music has also listed a second Yorke song titled ‘That’s How Horses Are’, scheduled to come out April 2.

Listen to the sombre track below.

Cillian Murphy spoke to Rolling Stone UK about his admiration for the Radiohead musicians and the impact their music had on the show’s previous seasons. At the end of season three, the Shelby family are arrested after what seems like a betrayal by Tommy, while ‘Life in a Glasshouse’ by Radiohead plays.

“You have to find a piece of music that can carry the weight of that and add something to it,” he said. “There’s a depth to the music of Radiohead, and there’s an amazing complexity to Thom Yorke’s voice, and it just fits. Those guys don’t lend their music to very much at all — they’re super choosy, so we were just very lucky.”

Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood this weekend announced a one-time pressing for two recent singles from The Smile, their side band alongside Sons of Kemet drummer Tom Skinner.

Fans will be able to enter a lottery for the 7″ pressing of ‘You Will Never Work In Television Again’ and ‘The Smoke’.

It comes after the band shared a crypto new clip on social media, which originally suggested new music might have been coming soon.

Last month they also followed their debut live gigs with news of a further run of shows in May. They will kick off in Europe, with four UK shows including two at London’s Roundhouse. Tickets can be purchased here.

You can find The Smile’s full tour schedule below.

MAY 2022
16 – Zagreb, Hala
17 – Vienna, Gasometer
19 – Prague, Forum Karlin
20 – Berlin, Tempodrom
23 – Stockholm, Cirkus
24 – Oslo, Sentrum Scene
27 – Amsterdam, Paradiso
29 – London, Roundhouse
30 – London, Roundhouse

JUNE 2022
1 – Edinburgh, Usher Hall
2 – Manchester, Albert Hall
4 – Lille, L’Aéronef
6 – Paris, Philarmonie de Paris
7 – Paris, Philarmonie de Paris
8 – Lyon, Les Nuits de Fourvière
10 – Barcelona, Primavera Sound
12 – Dijon, Festival VYV Les Solidarites
24 – Reims, La Magnifique Society
25 – Werchter, TW Classic Festival
27 – Luxembourg, The Neumünster Abbaye
29 – Gdynia, Open’er Festival

JULY 2022
5 – Barcelona, Poble Espanyol
6 – Madrid, Noches del Botánico
8 – Lisbon, Coliseum
11 – Nimes, Festival de Nimes
12 – Montreux, Montreux Jazz Festival
14 – Milan, Fabrique Milano
15 – Ferrara, Piazza Trento Trieste
17 – Macerata MC – Arena Sferisterio
18 – Rome, Auditorium Parco della Musica
20 – Taormina, Teatro Antico di Taormina