Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Bloc Party share savage new video for latest single ‘The Girls Are Fighting’

The band took inspiration from Adam Ant and 1970s glam rock for the latest taste of 'Alpha Games'

By Patrick Clarke

Black and white press photo of Bloc Party, standing in front of a white background.
Their new single is taken from their upcoming album, ‘Alpha Games’. Credit: Press/ Wunmi Onibudo

Bloc Party have shared the latest taste of their forthcoming sixth album ‘Alpha Games’, in the form of an intense new single ‘The Girls Are Fighting’.

The clip, which you can see below, sees the band watching a brutal kickboxing fight, with violence at times spilling over into the small throng of spectators. It was filmed at the Repton Boxing Club in East London, where notorious gangsters Ronnie and Reggie Kray once trained.

“There was no specific incident that inspired this song – it was more a composite of lots of things I’ve seen over the years when being in clubs and seeing violence erupt with feuding love rivals,” said Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke.

“I’ve always had a slight obsession with those sorts of moments; like a fuse being lit, when actions turn from words into violence. You can learn a lot about who people really are in those moments.

“I think ‘The Girls Are Fighting’ is kind of self-explanatory – someone’s been selling dreams to someone they shouldn’t have and it’s caught up with them.

“I just wanted to capture that moment of going from nought to 10 in an evening, in a sweaty nightclub. I’m really pleased with the arrangement for this track because it has this 1970s glam rock feel meets Adam Ant feel. I love what [drummer] Louise is doing on the tom-toms.”

The track follows previous single ‘Traps’, which arrived in December. Both tracks will appear on the band’s sixth studio album ‘Alpha Games’, which is the follow-up to 2016’s ‘Hymns’, and is set for release on April 29.

Bloc Party are set to showcase ‘Alpha Games’ on a UK and European tour in May and June 2022. You can find ticket details here and see the full schedule below.

MAY 2022
10 – La Salle Pleyel, Paris, France

11 – L’Aéronef, Lille, France
12 – Cirque Royal, Brussels, Belgium
14 – Store Vega, Copenhagen, Denmark
15 – Tempodrom, Berlin, Germany
16 – E-Werk, Cologne, Germany
17 – TivoliVredenburg Ronda, Utrecht, Netherlands
26 – O2 Academy 1, Birmingham, UK
27 – Rock City, Nottingham, UK
28 – Alexandra Palace, London, UK
30 – O2 Academy, Bristol, UK
31 – O2 Victoria Warehouse, Manchester, UK

JUNE 2022
2 – O2 City Hall, Newcastle, UK
3 – The Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow, UK

4 – O2 Academy, Leeds, UK

‘Alpha Games’ was teased by Okereke in January 2020 after he announced the rescheduling of a tour in support of his 2019 solo album, ‘2042’ . The singer released its follow-up, ‘The Waves Pt. 1’, in May this year.