Skip to main content

Home Music Music News

Ozzy Osbourne announces new album, ‘Patient Number 9’

His first solo record since 2020 will arrive in September

By Joe Goggins

Ozzy Osbourne in a still from the 'Patient Number 9' video, 2022
The first single is out later today (June 24). (Photo: YouTube)

Ozzy Osbourne will release a new album, ‘Patient Number 9’, this September, he has confirmed.

The record, his first new solo full-length since ‘Ordinary Man’ in 2020, will be his 13th, and comes with an all-star cast of collaborators. The core band for most of the album, per Brooklyn Vegan, will comprise Zakk Wylde on guitar, Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers on drums, and Robert Trujillo from Metallica on bass, but there will also be appearances by Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck, Pearl Jam axeman Mike McCready, Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses, Chris Chaney from Jane’s Addiction and, poignantly, the late Taylor Hawkins, who died in March.

Perhaps even more excitingly than that for Black Sabbath fans, though, Tony Iommi is also slated to appear on two songs. The title track features Beck – you can see the Todd McFarlane-directed video below when it premieres at 3pm UK time today (June 24). The news comes as Osbourne remains in the early stages of recovery from surgery that his wife, Sharon, claimed would “determine the rest of his life.” He has been beset by health problems in recent years, forcing him to continually postpone his planned ‘No More Tours 2’ jaunt around the UK with Judas Priest on a number of occasions.

Per Sharon’s Twitter account, The Prince of Darkness is well on his way to recovery after the neck surgery, which was intended to solve issues stemming to a 2003 quad bike accident that had been aggravated by a fall at home during the COVID-19 lockdowns. “Our family would like to express so much gratitude for the overwhelming amount of love and support leading up to Ozzy’s surgery!” said his wife and longtime manager. “Ozzy is doing well and on the road to recovery! Your love means the world to him.”

Osbourne remains intent on a return to the road, with his UK dates currently in the diary for May and June 2023. You can see them below. Before that, ‘Patient Number 9’ arrives via Epic on September 9, with the full track listing as follows:

Ozzy Osbourne – ‘Patient Number 9’:

  1. ‘Patient Number 9’ [feat. Jeff Beck]
  2. ‘Immortal’ [feat. Mike McCready]
  3. ‘Parasite’ [feat. Zakk Wylde]
  4. ‘Mr. Darkness’ [feat. Zakk Wylde]
  5. ‘One of Those Days’ [feat. Eric Clapton]
  6. ‘A Thousand Shades’ [feat. Jeff Beck]
  7. ‘No Escape from Now’ [feat. Tony Iommi]
  8. ‘Nothing Feels Right’ [feat. Zakk Wylde]
  9. ‘Evil Shuffle’ [feat. Zakk Wylde]
  10. ‘Degradation Rules’ [feat. Tony Iommi]
  11. ‘Dead and Gone’
  12. ‘God Only Knows’

Ozzy Osbourne, May 2023:

31 – Nottingham, Motorpoint Arena

June 2023:

2 – Newcastle, Utilita Arena

4 – Glasgow, OVO Hydro

7 – Manchester, AO Arena

12 – London, The O2 Arena

14 – Birmingham, Resorts World Arena